News‎ > ‎

2014 Richard Quick Invitational, Auburn

posted Jul 2, 2014, 8:11 PM by DCST Webmaster   [ updated Jul 2, 2014, 8:14 PM ]

38 swimmers from Gold, Senior and Sr. Elite traveled to Auburn for the Richard Quick Invitational. The meet was held at the Auburn University James E. Martin Aquatic Center on June 27th-29th. The meet is held in honor of U.S. Olympic coaching legend Richard Quick. Quick who coached at SMU, Stanford and Auburn, started his career at the Dad's Club where he lead the team from 1965-1971.


This year's participants were





Fernanda Gamez, Bridie Hibbler, Laura Lei, Kate Luo, Sophie Newell, Mckenzie Parsons, Emily Quine, Morgan Reyna and Clarissa Vincent.



Clayton Bobo, Luke Funderburk, Samuel Ho, Tyler Presswood, Nicolas Roa, Cory Stephenson, and Justin Turet.





Brittany Baerg, Isabella Boome, Alexandra Buscher, Caddie Dull, Sara Jane Gage, Elizabeth Jordana, Meg Meliet, Mallory Minear, Meghan Parsons, Jordyn Pursell, Elena Skaribas, Erika Stephenson and Ellie Vincent.



Jack Calderwood, Riley Carson, William Gage, Parker Hranicky, Dylen Presswood, Janne Roovers and Cooper Wozencraft.



We had 22 individual finalists throughout the weekend. This was a 13&up meet which means 13&14 swimmers competed against much older athletes. This is why it was pretty special to have 7 of our young swimmers reach the finals.

Clayton Bobo 14 – 100 breast, 100 back  50 & 100 free, 100 & 200 fly

Samuel Ho  14 – 200 breast

Sophie Newell 13 – 100 free

Nicolas Roa 14  – 200 back

Cory Stephenson 14 – 100 & 200 breast

Justin turret 14 – 200 breast

Clarissa Vincent 13 – 100 & 200 breast


Five of our swimmers reached the Championship (A) final.

Alexandra Buscher was one of our leading ladies at the meet. Her 200 free and back performances earned her first place finishes. Her 200 back time of 2:20.60 is a new Junior National time standard and a 15-16 team record. Although she was a little off her personal best in the 200 free she was able to hold off U.S Olympian Amanda Weir in a very exciting race.


Also making the championship final on the girls side was Elizabeth Jordana who had strong performances in both the backstroke events. Her 200 Back time of 2:23.06 earned her a 3rd place finish and currently ranks her 3rd in our All Time Top 10 for the 17-18 division.


On the boys side Riley Carson, Jack Rogers and Cooper Wozencraft also made the championship final. Carson placed 7th in the 1500 with a personal best of 16:49.55. Also placing 7th overall was Wozencraft with a best time of 58.57 in the 100 fly. Rogers finished 8th in the 100 and 200 fly both with personal best, but it was his 200 free in the B final that earned him his first NCSA Junior National qualifying time. His time of 1:57.32 also makes him a high school All American for the 2013-14 seasons.


Other notable swims

Sophie Newells 100 free time of 1:02.10 is a new tags time standard and earned her a second swim in the finals.

Caddie Dull’s 10 second drop in the 200 backstroke.

Samuel Ho and Ellie Vincent breaking the 3 minute barrier in the 200 breast for the first time.

Dylan Presswood’s and Erika Stephenson’s first place finishes in the 100 free E finals.

Meghan Parsons and Mallory Minear breaking the 1:10 barrier in the 100 fly for the first time.

Tyler Presswood’s A times in the 50, 100 and 200 free

Janne Roovers achieving his first sectional cuts in the 400IM and 400 free.

Mackenzie Parons and MacKamie Quine  breaking 1:10 in the 100 free for the first time.



Overall our swimmers recorded 49 new swims into our All Time Top Ten List during the weekend. Two of those were team records set by Alexandra Buscher in the 100 and 200 15-16 200 back.


Swimmers who achieved 100% best times

Jack Rogers, Brittany Baerg , Riley Carson, Luke Funderburk, Parker Hranicky, Mallory Minear, Megahn Parsons, Mackenzie Parsons, Dylan Presswood, Tyler Presswood,  and Janne Roovers.



We would like to give a special thanks to our chaperons Sandy ParsonsBarbie Presswood and our trip organizer Shawn Jones!