News‎ > ‎

2014 Austin Grand Prix

posted Jan 18, 2015, 7:29 PM by DCST Webmaster   [ updated Jan 18, 2015, 7:37 PM ]
Congratulation to our swimmers who competed at this year’s Arena Pro Swim Series at Austin. The Arena Pro Swim Series took place on Jan. 15-17, 2015 at the Lee & Joe Jamail Texas Swimming Center on the campus of the University of Texas. The meet attracted many of the world’s best swimmers and included athletes from over 20 countries.

This was a great opportunity for our youngsters to compete against the very best and also get some much needed Long Course racing leading up to important Long Course championships in March and April.

Representing Dad’s Club:
Clayton Bobo, Alexandra Buscher, Jack Calderwood, Elizabeth Jordana, Annie Miller, and Cooper Wozencraft.

Alexandra Buscher and Annie Miller both earned spots in the evening finals.

In the 200 free Buscher finished 2nd in the D final with a season best and 17-18 team record of 2:04.75.

Miller’s prelim swim in the 50 free earned her a spot in the B finals. Her time of 26.25 makes her the first Dad’s Club lady to break the 27 sec. barrier. This swim places her on the Texas All-Time Top 10.

Jack Calderwood and Elizabeth Jordana won their prelim heats in the 100 free and 100 fly respectively.

Calderwood’s 53.55 and Jordana’s 1:04.20 were personal best and currently rank them 3rd in the 15-16 boys and 2nd in the 17-18 girls Dad’s Club All Time Top 10 list.

Team Records
  • Alexandra Buscher 100LC free 17-18 – 58.32
  • Alexandra Buscher 200LC free17-18 – 2:04.75
  • Annie Miller 50LC free 17-18 – 26.25
  • Annie Miller 50LC free Open – 26.25
Online videos of key swims:

Clayton Bobo, Elizabeth Jordana, Annie Miller, Cooper Wozencraft, Jack Calderwood, and Alexandra Buscher in front of a display at the Texas Swimming and Diving Hall of Fame commemorating the Dad's Club Swim Team winning the inaugural Wally Pryor Distinguished Team Award (see article).

Michael Phelps, the most decorated Olympian of all time, with Dad's Club swimmers Clayton Bobo, Jack Calderwood, and Annie Miller